The Information Technology Infrastructure Library has been growing in popularity because of its universal suitability as a framework for managing information technology (IT) services, including the infrastructure, development, and operations of an IT department.

Information Technology Infrastructure Library

In its fullest implementation, ITIL is a perfect complement to – and is perfectly complemented by – Six Sigma and Lean to create more agile and higher quality IT operations. Using Six Sigma techniques like the DMAIC process introduces a more structured engineering approach to ITIL’s framework. Lean thinking promotes continuous improvement and waste reduction into ITIL’s best practices.

ITIL itself does not provide methods to identify and target waste, document value streams (as is usually done with Lean), or measure customer satisfaction. Nor is ITIL itself a transformation method used for change management. But ITIL does provide the vocabulary and framework we think of as the process approach advocated by Deming, which is where all process improvements start.

Implementing an ITIL framework is an excellent starting point for IT organizations looking to evolve toward a more process-oriented state. Six Sigma and Lean can be added to the ITIL framework to help your IT organization achieve continuous improvement and organizational agility.

You can also take the ITIL® V3 “Foundation” exam and receive a nice A4 certificate and, as tradition has it, a lapel pin (Figure 1).

Information Technology Infrastructure Library

Fig. 1 – ITIL® V3 Lapel Pins


The greenish colored pin on the left is the one you receive on passing the ITIL Foundation exam. The Foundation exam is the first step in the ITIL Qualification Scheme (Figure 2). It is followed by two Intermediate exams — for Service Capability and Service Lifecycle — which are, in turn, followed by Expert and Master level designations.

Fig. 2 – ITIL v3 Qualification Scheme

Fig. 2 – ITIL v3 Qualification Scheme


The new pins are similar to the old ITIL® V2 pins but there are more of them, each with a pin color corresponding to the ITIL® V3 core book it represents.


Just like with ISO 9000, the standard evolved out of efforts by the UK government during the 1980?ýs to model successful organizations and their IT service management approach. Version 3 was released in 2007 and takes a more circular or complete cycle approach than its predecessors, just as ISO 9000 has evolved into a more dynamic, process-based approach. The two have much in common and can be used side-by-side, but there are some ITIL V2 and ITIL V3 Differences.


The core disciplines of ITIL V2 used to focus on “what” Service Support and Service Delivery should be done. Ten processes tightly defined ITIL V2 around some of the main operational elements of running IT services.

The Ten Original ITIL V2 Processes:

  1. Finance Management
  2. Availability Management
  3. Capacity Management
  4. IT Service Continuity Management
  5. Service Level Management
  6. Change Management
  7. Service Asset & Configuration Management
  8. Release & Deployment Management
  9. Incident Management
  10. Problem Management

ITIL V3 Processes

ITIL V3 Processes expanded the original ten processes into 27 processes organized into five core areas or books: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operations, and Continual Service Improvement Processes. The intent is to explain “how” more than just the “what” based approach of V2.


  1. Service Portfolio Management
  2. Demand Management
  3. Finance Management (V2)


  1. Availability Management (V2)
  2. Capacity Management (V2)
  3. IT Service Continuity Management (V2)
  4. Service Level Management (V2)
  5. Information Security Management
  6. Supplier Management
  7. Service Catalog Management


  1. Change Management (V2)
  2. Service Asset & Configuration Management (V2)
  3. Knowledge Management
  4. Release & Deployment Management (V2)
  5. Service Validation & Testing


  1. Service Desk Management
  2. Technical Management
  3. IT Operations Management
  4. Applications Management
  5. Event Management
  6. Incident Management (V2)
  7. Problem Management (V2)
  8. Request Fulfillment
  9. Access Management


  1. CSI Service Level Management
  2. Service Measurement & Reporting
  3. CSI Improvement Process

ITIL V3 Service Management Lifecycle

ITIL V3 processes have expanded to cover the complete service management lifecycle and are closely aligned with ISO 20000. Similar to ITIL but integrating the process-based approach common to ISO standards, ISO 20000 is an international standard that describes best practices for IT service management. ISO 20000 was published in December, 2005, and replaced ISO 15000.

While ITIL provides guidance to service companies, those companies cannot be ITIL-accredited; individuals may be certified as ITIL practitioners. Companies may be accredited to ISO 20000, however, and while ISO 20000 does not require companies to use ITIL, company accreditation to the ISO standard is made far easier by implementing ITIL beforehand.